20131029-200200.jpg

Many refer to Jiu-Jitsu training as therapeutic. The therapy comes from enjoying the moment by being completely involved on the mat. We live in a culture that conditions us to multitasking, pulling our minds in a million directions at once. It is wonderful then to have a place and time that forces you to be completely present in the moment as Jiu-Jitsu does.

Once you get into the roll, you exist outside of your hectic life, focused and immersed into the task at hand. You realize, in that special moment, that nothing exists before or after, and therefore worries and regrets do you no good whatsoever. This is Zen. This is living Jiu-Jitsu.

And as much as it is wonderful to share epiphanies and explain metaphors for life from Jiu-Jitsu, there is no substitute for sweat. The purest benefit comes from the rolling. Drilling, repetition, detail work, instruction are all necessary to training and improving, but the true philosophy of Jiu-Jitsu comes from the mat time, the rolling. That’s where the therapy and wisdom come from.

Comments
  1. thekillerj says:

    When I’m grappling, my sole focus is reacting and responding to my opponent’s movement. Stress is put on hiatus. I no longer ruminate on past stress, or things I need to accomplish tomorrow. I’m truly in the moment. The experiential nature of jiujitsu, combined with sharing my passion with like-minded friends truly makes jiujitsu my sanctuary.

    • Agree with the both of you. When I’m rolling, I’m just in this zone where nothing outside of the mat concerns me. It’s absolutely wonderful to be stress free, even for only a couple of hours. Plus, you always feel better after class, no matter what was bothering you before class.

  2. […] show a genuine love for BJJ.  For example, I found myself grinning as I read his most recent post, Enjoy The Moment, because it resonated with my own feelings towards BJJ and my current journey to being more present […]

Leave a Reply

