New 10th Planet Jiu Jitsu website

New 10th Planet Jiu Jitsu website

Everyone knows I have been a fan of Eddie Bravo for a while. I think he is brilliant in jiu jitsu, while most of the his loyalest followers annoy the shit out of me! Anyway, his new site was recently launched, and if you haven’t checked it out, please do. He has some good techniques on it, and some of them are even free. However, if you do want to subscribe it is about 5 bucks a month. Seems worth it for the quality of videos you get, though.

I only complain about Eddie Bravo disciples because they can tend to be neurotic, and unrealistic with their jiu jitsu. They seem to want special status as 10th Planet Jiu Jitsu practitioners and not BJJ guys/gals. I think this misses Eddie’s point with a lot of it. I am going to usually dislike anyone who puts down other people’s practice, the way 10th Planet folks sometimes tend to put down training with the gi, or training the self-defense portions. I am not saying all 10th Planet practitioners are this way, but I have encountered many and seen many. And for those who just train and leave everyone alone, and choose not to disrespect, I am not referring to them at all.

Additionally, if you want to check out a good book, and a great introduction to 10th Planet Jiu Jitsu, his Mastering the Rubber Guard and Mastering the Twister books are excellently laid-out and compiled. Definitely money well-spent.

Now go train!

Comments
  1. Dave says:

    There is nothing wrong with criticizing the GI if the criticism is constructive. I personally never trained with a GI and the first time I trained in the GI I had beat a BJJ black belt in 1991, they had to force me to wear the GI too. One thing I noticed about going from no GI to GI is that I could be completely lazy with my sweeps and they would still work. The GI makes everything simple. The negative aspect about the GI is that if all your life you train with someone in a GI if you fight with a guy who doesnt have a shirt on will you be ready for it? Will you even know how to hold someone who’s not wearing a GI?

    I believe that the GI causes bad habits because you loose all the simple ways to sweep someone and another bad habit will be that you will be so used to grabbing the GI, which makes people lazy because many things are so simple to do when you have the GI grips. When you loose your grips you loose your confidence in a fight. Ultimately the GI only would help if someone on the street were wearing a jacket where as when you train in no GI you will be knowledgeable of the no GI grips and when you get the extra grips (Clothing) it makes the fight 10 times easier!

Leave a Reply

